The eight extra meridians are different than the 12 major meridians in that they are considered to be storage vessels or reservoirs of energy and are not associated directly with the internal organs.  The Conception & Governing Vessels both have unique meridian points, where the other 6 vessels share meridian points from the other major meridians.

The eight extraordinary vessels are (奇經八脈; qí jīng bā mài):

1.Conception Vessel (Ren Mai) – 任脈 [rèn mài]
2.Governing Vessel (Du Mai) – 督脈 [dū mài]
3.Penetrating Vessel (Chong Mai) – 衝脈 [chōng mài]
4.Girdle Vessel (Dai Mai) – 帶脈 [dài mài]
5.Yin linking vessel (Yin Wei Mai) – 陰維脈 [yīn wéi mài]
6.Yang linking vessel (Yang Wei Mai) – 陽維脈 [yáng wéi mài]
7.Yin Heel Vessel (Yin Qiao Mai) – 陰蹻脈 [yīn qiāo mài]
8.Yang Heel Vessel (Yang Qiao Mai) – 陽蹻脈 [yáng qiāo mài]